naijaclassic July 17, 2017


List Of  Nigeria Inspector General Of Police 1964 Till Date-The purpose or this publication is to bring to your notice all the list of Nigeria police inspector from  the year 1964 till date.It is placed in record that Nigeria has had a so many Inspectors General. The Inspector General of Police, abbreviated as IGP is the head of the Nigeria Police Force. They are regarded as the most senior officer in the police service. The incumbent IGP is Ibrahim Idris Kpotum. Here is the List Of All Nigeria Inspector General Of Police 1964 Till Date.

The List Of All Nigeria Inspector General Of Police 1964 Till Date includes everyone that has served in the capacity of the IGP in Nigeria. So, the names below are the people that have served Nigeria in the capacity of the IGP.

List Of All Nigeria Inspector General Of Police 1964 Till DateBelow is the list and year of service of all Inspectors General of Police in Nigeria. They include:

Name Period of office
IGP Louis Edet 1964–1966
IGP Kam Salem 1966–1975
IGP Muhammadu Dikko Yusufu 1975–1979
IGP Adamu Suleiman 1979–1981
IGP Sunday Adewusi 1981–1983
IGP Etim Inyang 1985–1986
IGP Muhammadu Gambo-Jimeta 1986–1990
IGP Aliyu Atta 1990–1993
IGP Ibrahim Coomassie 1993–1999
IGP Musiliu Smith 1999–2002
IGP Mustafa Adebayo Balogun 2002 – 2005
IGP Sunday Ehindero 2005–2007
IGP Mike Mbama Okiro 2007–2009
IGP Ogbonna Okechukwu Onovo 2009 – 2010
IGP Hafiz Ringim 2010 – 2012
IGP Mohammed Dikko Abubarkar 2012 – 2014
IGP Suleiman Abba 2014 -2015
IGP Solomon E. Arase 2015 – 2016
Ibrahim Idris Kpotum (Acting) 2016-
Appointment Of the IGPHow does the IGP emerge? The position of the IGP is by appointment. Usually, a serving officer of the Nigeria Police Force will be recommended to the President by the Nigerian Police Council. The President will in turn, submit the appointee’s name to the senate for scrutiny and confirmation. Once confirmed, the appointee becomes the IGP of Nigeria.

Leave a comment.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*